Bay Clinch League Title

Monday 2nd September 2013 7:55 pm
Match Reports

Herne Bay won the Forest of Blean League title in style with a victory over Ashford Town. Needing 4 points to be assured of the title Bay won on all 6 triples and by 54 shots, picking up all 8 points in the process.

The annual Bernard Annand Finals took place at Herne Bay Bowls Club. The Trophy event was won by Ashford Town beating sandwich 46 – 41 with Folkestone in 3rd place and hosts Herne Bay 4th. In the shield Bay were beaten in the final by Ashford Rail 35 – 33 with Birchington 3rd and Folkestone Park 4th.

Bay travelled to Duke of Kent Court, Mottingham to play 6 mixed triples they won on 2 and lost 4 losing overall by 10 shots.

Bay entertained the Oyster Indoor Junior team and although the home team won on all 6 triples the Juniors acquitted themselves well to the outdoor conditions.

Herne Bay 126 Ashford Town 72 (Forest of Blean League)

John Phillips, Bob Day, Bill Robb 17 - 11 Dave Mason, Robbie Irons, Ian Robb 19 - 12 Terry Kelly, Alf Collar, Brian Dennis 20 - 19 Ray Chipperfield, Ray Day, Tony Bishop 32 - 6 Len Brown, Bob Baldwin, Peter Gibson 17 - 15 Les Mason, John Melford, Eddie Allen 21 - 9

Herne Bay 100 Duke of Kent Court 110

Diane Wiltshire, Mike Warrier, Terry Taunton 15 – 17 Jean White, Tony Rowson, Bruce Clayton 12 – 18 Richie Callanan, Gill Clayton, John Phillips 13 – 21 John Grogan, Roy Chillingworth, Gill Baker 23 – 24 Sue Grogan, John White, Lyn Phillips 14 – 12 Marianne Offer, Ronnie Phillips, Bill Robb 23 - 18